MINUTES

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Board of Commissioners of the City of Burkburnett, Texas met in a special called meeting on May 13, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the City Hall, 501 Sheppard Road, Burkburnett, Texas. The meeting was open to the public with notice being given in compliance with the Open Meetings Act. The following Commissioners were present:

Carl Law Mayor
Bill Lindenborn Mayor Pro-Tem
Josh Andrajack Commissioner
Randy Brewster Commissioner
Jeremy Duff Commissioner
Don Hardy Commissioner
Marguerite Love Commissioner

Others present: Lawrence Cutrone, City Manager; Trish Holley, Director of Administration; Mike Whaley, Director of Public Works; Brent Battista, Director of Parks and Recreation; and Richard Gordon, Executive Director of Burkburnett Development Corporation/Director of Planning.

<u>Item 1.</u> Mayor Law called the meeting to order.

- A. Commissioner Randy Brewster gave the invocation.
- B. Mayor Pro-Tem Lindenborn led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item 2. Resolution Number 660 was presented in its entirety.

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE CITY OF BURKBURNETT, TEXAS CANVASSING THE ELECTION RETURNS AND DECLARING ELECTION RESULTS IN THE GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTION HELD IN THE CITY OF BURKBURNETT ON MAY 4, 2019.

RESOLUTION NUMBER 660

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE CITY OF BURKBURNETT, TEXAS CANVASSING THE ELECTION RETURNS AND DECLARING ELECTION RESULTS IN THE GENERAL/SPECIAL ELECTION HELD IN THE CITY OF BURKBURNETT ON MAY 4, 2019 TO ELECT THE MAYOR AND TWO COMMISSIONERS AND TO APPROVE OR DENY PROPOSITION A-CIVIL SERVICE LAW.

On this the 13th day of May 2019, The Board of Commissioners of the City of Burkburnett, Texas convened in a special called meeting open to the public at the regular meeting place thereof with the following members present, to wit:

Carl Law	Mayor
Bill Lindenborn	Mayor Pro-Tem
Josh Andrajack	Commissioner
Randy Brewster	Commissioner
Jeremy Duff	Commissioner
Don Hardy	Commissioner
Marguerite Love	Commissioner
Lawrence Cutrone	City Manager
Trish Holley	Dir. of Administration

There came to be considered the returns of a general election held on the 4th day of May 2019 for the purpose of electing the herein after named officials, and it is appearing from said returns, duly and legally made, that there were cast at said election 1,114 valid and legal votes (784 Early and 330 Election Day); that each of the candidates in said election received the following votes:

M	Early	Election Day	Total
Mayor Carl Law	565	248	813
Commissioners			
Don Hardy	159	88	247
John Beard	126	49	175
Joe B. Lemond	279	104	383
Randy Brewster	297	132	429
Theophile (Ted) Kwas	378	139	517

Therefore, be it resolved by the Board of Commissioners of the City of Burkburnett, Texas that said election was duly called, that said notice of election was given in accordance with law, and the election was held in accordance with law, and that: Carl Law was duly elected as Mayor for a three (3) year term; and that Theophile (Ted) Kwas and Randy Brewster were duly elected as Commissioners. That Theophile (Ted) Kwas will serve in Place One for a two (2) year term and Randy Brewster will serve in Place Two for a two (2) year term.

Said above-named parties are hereby declared duly elected to said respective offices, subject to the taking of their oaths as provided by the laws of the State of Texas.

There came to be considered the returns of a special election held on 4th day of May 2019 for the purpose of Proposition A: Adoption of the police officers' civil service law, and it appearing from said returns, duly and legally made, that there were cast at said election 1156 valid and

legal votes (784 Early and 330 Election Day); and that Proposition A received the following votes:

	Early	Election Day	Total
Proposition A			
For	269	111	380
Against	505	219	724

The Board of Commissioners hereby declares that Proposition A which was submitted to the voters in this election has been denied by a majority of the voters who voted in said election.

It is further found and determined that the meeting at which this Resolution was passed was open to the public as required by law.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 13th day of May 2019.

Carl Law, Mayor

Trish Holley, Dir. of Administration

Motion was made by Commissioner Love, seconded by Commissioner Lindenborn to approve Resolution Number 660 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Item 3.</u> The Oath of Office was administered to Carl Law, Mayor; Ted Kwas, Place 1; and Randy Brewster, Place 2 by Trish Holley, Director of Administration.

<u>Item 4.</u> Trish Holley, Director of Administration, opened the floor for Election of Mayor Pro-Tem for the ensuing year in compliance with Article 4, Section 7 of the City Charter.

Commissioner Andrajack nominated Commissioner Marguerite Love to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem for the next ensuing year, seconded by Commissioner Duff.

Ms. Holley asked if there were any other nominations, there being none, the floor was closed for nominations.

Motion carried unanimously to nominate Marguerite Love as the Mayor Pro-Tem for the ensuing year.

<u>Item 5.</u> Resolution Number 661, Resolution of Gratitude, was presented by Mayor Law, to Mayor Pro-Tem Bill Lindenborn for serving ten years on the Board of Commissioners.

Mayor Pro-Tem Lindenborn was presented a blanket depicting the City of Burkburnett's Flag and a blue crystal teardrop paperweight.

Motion was made by Commissioner Brewster, seconded by Commissioner Andrajack to approve Resolution Number 661 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Item 6.</u> Resolution Number 662, Resolution of Gratitude, was presented to Commissioner Don Hardy for serving two years on the Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Hardy was presented a gift of appreciation.

Motion was made by Commissioner Duff, seconded by Commissioner Love to approve Resolution Number 662 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

- <u>Item 7.</u> Mayor Law closed the meeting at 6:12 p.m. pursuant to the Texas Opening Meetings Act, Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code, the Board of Commissioners may convene in Executive Session regarding the following matters:
 - A. Section 551.074(a)-Deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee.
 - a. Employment of Margaret Poole as City Clerk.

<u>Item 8.</u> Mayor Law reconvened the special called meeting at 6:22 p.m.

Motion was made by Commissioner Duff, seconded by Commissioner Kwas to employee Margaret Poole as City Clerk. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Item 9.</u> City Manager comments:

Mr. Cutrone stated he is looking forward in working with Ms. Poole and the new Chief Tillman.

<u>Item 10.</u> City Commissioners Comments:

Mayor Pro-Tem Love thanked Commissioner Hardy and Commissioner Lindenborn for the guidance they have given to her.

Commissioner Duff thanked Commissioner Hardy and Commissioner Lindenborn for their service and welcomes Chief Tillman and Ms. Poole.

Commissioner Andrajack thanked both Commissioners for their service.

Commissioner Brewster thanked both Commissioners for their service.

Commissioner Kwas thanked both Commissioners for their good decisions and citizens that voted for him.

Mayor Law thanked Commissioner Lindenborn and Commissioner Hardy for their service.

<u>Item 11.</u> Motion made by Commissioner Duff, seconded by Commissioner Love to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.

	Carl Law, Mayor	
ATTEST:		
Trish Holley, Director of Administration		